Launched first in 2019, the Mathspace Transformative 20 is a national awards program designed to celebrate exceptional teachers and students. We are especially proud to see the list of amazing teachers and students grow over the years, and to have the opportunity to read their stories shared through the submissions.
From over 8,000 teachers and 300,000 students in Australia, we searched for individuals who reflected our core values - those who strive for impact, work with purpose, focus on continuous improvement, and demonstrate selflessness through their commitment to helping others.
We’ve now selected our top 20 teachers and top 20 students of 2022 - the teachers who are shaping the future of maths education and the students who have shown a real commitment to their own development.

Our Winners of 2022


We’ve selected our Top 20 Teachers who are exploring new and innovative ways of incorporating technology into maths education and helping students to be the best they can be.


We’ve selected our Top 20 Students who are taking initiative in their maths learning, who have a growth mindset, and who like to help others to be the best they can be too.

Winner selection process

Schools were encouraged to nominate teachers and students to participate in this year’s Transformative 20 awards program. The winner selection process included the review of feedback on the candidates and the analysis of their data on Mathspace.
To be eligible for the award, the candidates must also be teaching or studying at an Australian school, using or trialling Mathspace, and must have not previously been a Transformative 20 winner.