topic badge

Daylight Savings


Daylight savings is a practice used in many Australian states as an apparent way of "giving" people more light in the evenings and less in the mornings. This is done by moving the clocks forward on the first Sunday in October, when the days are getting longer during Spring, and then turning the clocks back to the regular time on the first Sunday in April, as the days are getting shorter during Autumn. Currently, Queensland, the Northern Territory and Western Australia do not use daylight savings.

Converting from standard to daylight savings time

Important abbreviations
  • Eastern Standard Time or Standard Time is abbreviated to AEST
  • Daylight Savings Time is abbreviated to AEDT

During daylight savings, clocks are moved forward 1 hour from the standard time, so $8$8 a.m. standard time would be $9$9 a.m. in daylight savings time, $6$6 p.m. AEST would become $7$7 AEDT and so on.

Similarly, when we go from daylight savings time to standard time, clocks are moved back 1 hour, so $12$12 p.m. AEDT would be $11$11 a.m. AEST and $14:22$14:22 AEDT would be $13:22$13:22 AEST.


Worked Examples

Question 1

If it is $16$16:$14$14 in Sydney in Daylight Savings Time, what time would it be in Eastern Standard Time?

  1. $16$16:$14$14 AEDT would be $\editable{}$:$\editable{}$ AEST.

Question 2

If it is $14$14:$35$35 in Sydney in Eastern Standard Time, what time would it be in Daylight Savings Time?

  1. $14$14:$35$35 AEST would be $\editable{}$:$\editable{}$ AEDT.



Interpret and use scales, timetables, and charts

What is Mathspace

About Mathspace